New England Databases with Foreign Legal Information
The following are subscription databases (you will need your New England ID and barcode to login off-site):
World Constitutions Illustrated - published by Hein. Contains current constitutions for every country in the world in its original language as well as an English translation. Some historical constitutions are included as well.
Country Reports
- The Library of Congress Country StudiesIncludes a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
- CIA PublicationsIncludes World Factbook, Intelligence Information, Economic information, and lists the Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
- CIA World Fact BookProvides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Individual Countries
One of the best places to start for foreign law research is the online database, The Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World (New England username and barcode needed for off-campus access).
Also listed below are some free internet websites. Please note links are to websites in English only.
Afghanistan
- Islamic Republic of Afghanistan Legal System and Research - Omar Sial, Globalex (published 2010)
- Afghan Laws - provided by AsianLII
- Customary Laws of Afghanistan - a report by the International Legal Foundation
Australia
- Australia - High Court
- Australian Legal Information Institute - Australian Federal and State materials
- New South Wales Law Link
- Australia Legal Research Guides and Sites on the Internet
- Guide to Researching Australian Law - Nicholas Pengelley and Sue Milne, LLRX (published 2009)
Austria
- Austrian Law in English
- The Austrian Legal System and Laws: A Brief Overview, Johannes Olbock, GlobaLex (updated 2012)
Azerbaijan
- A Guide to the Republic of Azerbaijan Law Research - Ramil Isgandarov, GlobaLex (updated 2012)
- Guide to Law Online: Azerbaijan - Library of Congress
- A Guide to the Republic of Azerbaijan Research - Fakhri Akperov Gudrat, LLRX
The Bahamas
- Bahamas Laws Online
- Bahamas Legal Research - Washburn University School of Law
- Guide to Law Online: The Bahamas - Library of Congress
Belarus
- Guide to Legal Research in Belarus - Nadia Shalugina, GlobaLex (updated 2011)
- The Belarus Legal System - Tatyana Khodosevich, LLRX
- Guide to Law Online: Belarus - Library of Congress
Belgium
- U.S. Embassy in Brussels - Information Service
- The Federal Parliament
Botswana
Brazil
Bulgaria
- The Bulgarian Legal System and Legal Research - Angel Panayotov, Lora Kapelovska, and Nikolay Bebov
Cameroon
- Researching Cameroonian Law - Charles Manga Fombad
Canada
- Laws
- Cases
- Government
- Other Canadian Resources
- National Archives of Canada
- Canadian Intergovermental Conference Secretariat
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CANLII)
- Doing Legal Research in Canada
The Carribean - dependent and independent states
- Guide to Carribean Law Research - Yemisi Dina, GlobaLex (updated 2011)
China
- Laws of the People's Republic of China - Asian Legal Information Institute
- Web-based research guides on PRC legal and business resources - American Bar Association
- Laws of the People's Republic of China - Washington University Law School Research Guide
- A Complete Research Guide to the Laws of the People's Republic of China (PRC)Chinese Legal Research - University of Washington
- China Law Digest
- CHINALAW - Archives of e-mail discussion forum (was the Chinese Law Net)
- Congressional-Executive Commission on China - Monitors human rights and the development of the rule of law in China and submits an annual report to the President and the Congress
- East Asian Law Department - University of Washington School of Law, Gallagher Law Library
- The Internet and Chinese Law Materials - Bick-har Yeung, East Asian Collection, University of Melbourne, Australia. A paper prepared for the 18th IALL Course of International Law Librarianship "Australasian Law and Librarianship" (1999)
- A Complete Research Guide to the Laws of the People's Republic of China - Wei Luo & Joan Liu (2003)
- Guide to Law Online: China - Library of Congress
Colombia
- An Introduction to Colombian Governmental Institutions and Primary Legal Sources - Antonio Ramirez and Hernando Otero, GlobaLex (updated 2012)
Costa Rica
- A guide to legal research in Costa Rica - Roger A. Petersen
Croatia
- The Croation Legal System - Dunja Kuecking, Milivoje Žugic, and Marija Glibota, GlobaLex (published 2009)
- Central Goverment of Croatia - Govermental bodies, the constitution and other related links
- Croatian Legal Resources - Washburn University School of Law
- Important Legislation - Croatian Parliment
- Croatian Legislation
Czechoslovakia
Denmark
- Researching Danish Law - Rasmus H. Wandall
- Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- Vital Statistics of Denmark
Dominican Republic
- Guide to legal research in the Dominican Republic - Marisol Florén-Romero
East Timor
-
Timor Liste Guide to Law - Library of Congress
Egypt
- An Overview of the Egyptian Legal System and Legal Research - Dr. Mohamed S. Abdel Wahab, New York University
- Legal Research Guide - Library of Congress
- Egypt - Jurist World Law Page
El Salvador
- Guide to Legal Research in El Salvador - Oscar Samour
Estonia
- Supreme Court of Estonia
- The Goverment of the Republic of Estonia - includes links to govermental web sites in Estonia
France
- Office of the French Prime Minister and Government
- French Civil Service webpage - links to English language webpages for departments of government: Presidency, National Assembly, Ministrie
- Légifrance - French public service broadcasting law via the Internet (includes French codes in English)
Germany
Greece
- A Description of the Structure of the Hellenic Republic, the Greek Legal System, and Legal Research - Maria Panezi, GlobaLex
Guatemala
- Guide to Legal Research in Guatemala - Ana Cristina Rodriguez
Holland [The Netherlands]
- Blenheim - a Dutch law firm specializing in business and corporate law. Site contains useful articles and info about Dutch law.
- Researching Dutch Law
Honduras
- Guide to Legal Resources in Honduras - Jose Miguel Alvarez and Jessica Ramos, GlobaLex (updated 2012)
Hong Kong
- See China.
Hungary
- Introduction to Hungarian Law Research - Zsuzsanna Antal
Iceland
- The Icelandic Goverment
- Statistics Iceland
- Researching Icelandic Law - Ran Tryggvadottir and Thordis Ingadottir
India
- India Code Information System (INCODIS)
- Business & Information Technology in India
- The Constitution of India - With all amendments
- INDLAW - Research modules relating to Indian legal, tax and regulatory issues.
- The Contract Act 1872, Sale of Goods Act, 1930, and other Acts
- Ministry of Environment and Forests
- Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority
- SAARC - South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation
Indonesia
- The Indonesian Legal System - Dr. Benny S. Tabalujan, BEc LLB Monash LLM PhD Melbourne Barrister & Solicitor
- Indonesian Civil Code
- Indonesian Penal Code
Iran
- A Guide to the Legal System of the Islamic Republic of Iran - Omar Sial and Ershadul Karim, GlobaLex (published 2011)
- Guide to Law Online: Iran - Library of Congress
- Iranian Legal Resources - Washburn University School of Law
Ireland
- House of the Oireachtas - (legislature)
- The Irish News
- Guide to Irish Law
Israel
- A Guide to Legal Research in Israel - Michal Tamir, GlobaLex (updated 2011)
- Israeli Law Guide - Ruth Levush, LLRX
- The Israeli Knesset
- Guide to Law Online: Israel - Library of Congress
- Legal Research Guide: Israel - Library of Congress
- Jewish Law and Ethics Links - Manchester University, Centre for Jewish Studies
- The Jewish Legal Heritage Society
- Jewish Law - examining Halacha, Jewish Issues and Secular Laws, Aleph Institute Center for Halacha and American Law
- Selected Laws of the State of Israel - Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Japan
- Guide to Finding Japanese Law
- English Translation of Japanese Laws
- Decisions of the Supreme Court of Japan
- Japanese Patent Office
- Transparency of Japanese Law Project (translation of laws governing international transactions)
- Research Guide to Japanese Law
Kenya
- Researching Kenyan Law - Leonard Obura Aloo and Tom Ojienda, Globalex
- Kenya Law Reports - official website of the National Council for Law Reporting
Kuwait
- Kuwait's Legal System and Legal Research - Ahmed Khedr, Globalex (updated 2012)
- Kuwait Legal Resources - Washburn University School of Law
Latvia
- Guide to Latvian Law and Legal Resources - Ilona Ceica, Baiba Bebre and Ligita Gjortlere, GlobaLex
Mexico
- An Electronic Guide to Mexican Law - published by GlobaLex (updated 2012)
Morocco
- Introduction to the Moroccan Legal System - Dahmene Touchent, GlobaLex
- Guide to Law Online: Morocco - Library of Congress
New Zealand
- Constitution
- Courts
- Legislation
- Ministry of Maori Development (Te Puni Kokiri)
- NZLII Document Collections
- Researching New Zealand Law - a research guide published by Harvard Law School
Nicaragua
- Guide to Legal Research in Nicaragua - published by GlobaLex (updated 2012)
- Guide to Law Online: Nicaragua - Library of Congress
- Nicaragua Legal Resources - Washburn University School of Law
Peru
- Essential Issues of the Peruvian Legal System - Sergio Endress Gómez and Milagros Bustillos Pinto, GlobaLex (updated 2009)
- Peru Legal Resources - Washburn University School of Law
- Guide to Law Online: Peru - Library of Congress
Philippines
- Philippine Law, Statutes, and Codes - a commercial site published by Chan Robles & Associates
- Philippine Legal Research - Milagros Santos-Ong, Globalex (updated 2009)
- AsianLLI - Philippines
Portugal
- Legal Research in Portugal: A Guide - Tiago Fidalgo de Freitas, GlobaLex (updated 2009)
Romania
- Doing Legal Research in Romania - Dana Neacsu, GlobaLex (updated 2012)
- Guide to Law Online: Romania - Library of Congress
Russia
- Material on Russian Federation Law in English
- A Guide to Legal Research in Russia - Arina V. Popova and Lev S. Solovyev, GlobaLex (updated 2012)
- Guide to Law Online: Russia - Library of Congress
Rwanda
- Rwanda’s Legal System and Legal Materials - Eunice Musiime, GlobaLex (updated 2007)
- Guide to Law Online: Rwanda - Library of Congress
- Rwanda Legal Resources - Washburn University School of Law
Sierra Leone
- Sierra Leone - Hanatu Kabbah, GlobaLex (updated 2007)
- Guide to Law Online: Sierra Leone - Library of Congress
Singapore
- A Guide to the Singapore Legal System and Legal Research - Charlotte Gill, GlobaLex (updated 2013)
- Guide to Law Online: Singapore - Library of Congress
Slovenia
- Guide to Law Online: Slovenia - Library of Congress
- Slovenia Legal Resources - Washburn University School of Law
South Africa
- Judgments from the Supreme Court of Appeal of South Africa
- South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC)
- Southern African Legal Information Institute (SAFLII) - South African Constitutional Court Trust (largest free-access collection of online legal materials from South Africa)
Sudan
- An Overview of the Sudanese Legal System and Legal Research - Sharanjeet Parmar, Globalex (published 2007)
- Guide to Law Online: Sudan - Law Library of Congress
Sweden
- Swedish Law and Legal Material - Ibngrid Kabir and Sofia Sternberg, GlobaLex (published 2011)
- Guide to Law Onlien: Sweden - Law Library of Congress
Switzerland
- The Swiss Legal System and Research - Gregory M. Bovey, Globalex (published 2006)
- Guide to Law Online: Switzerland - Law Library of Congress
Taiwan
- Taiwan Legal Research Guide - Xiaomeng Zhang, Globalex (published 2012)
- Guide to Law Online: Taiwan - Law Library of Congress
Tanzania
- Guide to Tanzanian Legal System and Legal Research - Bahame Tom Nyanduga and Christabel Manning, Globalex (updated 2006)
- Guide to Law Online: Tanzania - Law Library of Congress
Trinidad & Tobago
- Parliment of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago - information on the operations of the Parliament, its Members, and administrative structure
- Guide to Law Online: Trinidad & Tobago - Law Library of Congress
Turkey
- A Guide to the Turkish Public Law Order and Legal Research - Serap Yazici, Globalex (ipdated 2011)
- Guide to Law Online: Turkey - Law Library of Congress
Uganda
- Uganda's Legal System and Legal Sector - Brenda Maharo, Globalex (published 2006)
- Guide to Law Online: Uganda - Law Library of Congress
Ukraine
- A Research Guide to Ukranian Law - Alexander Biryukov and Myroslava Kryvonos, Globalex (updated 2008)
- Guide to Law Online: Ukraine - Law Library of Congress
United Kingdom
- Lawtel.com - United Kingdom - Primary and secondary materials. Note: this subscription database requires authentication off-site (library barcode)
- Parliament (Lord's Judgments) - Archive of the House of Lord's Judgments
- The UK Statutes Law Database
- The Supreme Court - The Supreme Court is the final court of appeal in the UK for civil cases. It hears appeals in criminal cases from England, Wales and Northern Ireland.
- English Legal History Research Guide - Duke University School of Law Library (updated 2011)
- BAILI (British and Irish Legal Information Institute) - Access to freely available British and Irish public legal information.
- Researching Primary Legislation of the United Kingdom - Stephen Young, LLRX.com (2003)
- The Electronic Parliament - Resources for Tracking UK Legislation - Stephen Young, LLRX.com (2002)
- The English Short Title Catalog - The British Library. Early books, serials, newspapers before 1801
- Northern Ireland Office (NIO) - Responsible for overseeing the Northern Ireland devolution settlement. NIO represent Northern Ireland interests at UK Government level and UK Government interests in Northern Ireland.
Vietnam
- Vietnam Legal Research - Anh Luu, GlobaLex (updated 2010)
- Guide to Law Online: Vietnam - Library of Congress
Venezuela
- An Introduction to Venezuelan Governmental Institutions and Primary Legal Sources - Antonio Ramierez, Globalex (updated 2011)
- Guide to Law Online: Venezuela - Library of Congress
Zimbabwe
- The Law in Zimbabwe - Otto Saki and Tatenda Chiware, GlobaLex (updated 2011)
- Guide to Law Online: Zimbabwe - Library of Congress


Loading...
