Alert Services
Sign up for Alert Services from the Law Library
Select the subjects you are interested in and receive an email each month letting you know what new books we've acquired in your areas of interest, by signing on to our Custom Email Notification. With one or two clicks, faculty can request a book and have it delivered to their New England mailbox.
Many databases and websites let you sign up for email alerts & tailored newsletters.
Any Reference Librarian can help you set it up. Here are some you might find useful if delivered to your inbox:
BNA:
BNA/Bloomberg has an alert service which offers dozens of weekly email newsletters, covering topics such as criminal law, employment law, health law…the list goes on.
CCH Intelliconnect:
Sign up for free emailed tax newsletters at http://tax.cchgroup.com/Email/. Get the tax newsletter, or just headlines.
Current Index to Legal Periodicals:
SmartCILP is a very helpful website that indexes law-related articles. Ask a reference librarian for a code that will let you sign up for a free, custom-made weekly email update.
EBSCOhost:
EBSCOhost provides email alerts for its databases. In order to sign up for these alerts, you need to create an account. We currently subscribe to: SocIndex (which covers sociology); Academic Search Premier (which is a multi-disciplinary academic database); and Library, Information and Technology Abstracts (which indexes journals on libraries and librarianship). You can set up alerts for each of these databases. You will then be able to do a search and sign in so that the search is run periodically and you receive email alerts.
LexisAdvance:
To create an alert, click on the icon shaped like a bell after executing a search.
PubMed:
PubMed is a very well-respected medical and science database, offering alert services. Here is a video demonstrating how to set up an email alert.
SSRN:
WestlawNext:
To set up an alert in WestlawNext, go under the tab labelled "Tools" and choose the "Alert Center." This will allow you to enter a search which Westlaw can run daily, weekly or monthly.

Loading...
