This is the "Treatises" page of the "Elder Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Elder Law  

Law and aging issues in the United States and around the world, including health care, entitlement programs, end of life, and surrogate decision making.
Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.nesl.edu/elderlaw Print Guide RSS Updates

Treatises Print Page
  Search: 
 

Elder Law Treatises by subject via our catalog Portia.

These searches are sample searches run in our catalog Portia.  Portia includes print and online resources (including from Westlaw and Lexis).  You can edit or modify the searches to meet your particular research need.

Elder Law course supplemental bibliography

Law and the Elderly

Fall, 2013

Professor Ilene Klein

Supplemental Bibliography

 

See also:  Library Guide on Elder Law http://libraryguides.nesl.edu/elderlaw

 

 

Note:  As of September, 2013:  While most treatises available on WestlawNext and Lexis Advance are linked directly through our Portia online catalog by title, due to the changeover from classic Westlaw and Lexis interfaces to the WestlawNext and Lexis Advance products, there may be some gaps.  We are working with catalog records vendors to correct this.  In the meantime, and in addition, you may go directly to:

 

WestlawNext:  Secondary sources > Texts and Treatises > Estate Planning:  there are several good elder law treatises.

 

WestlawNext:  State Materials > Massachusetts > Secondary Sources > Massachusetts Continuing Legal Education, Inc. Materials (MCLE) > topics include Estate Planning, Family Law, and Health Law.

 

WestlawNext:  State Materials as above …> Massachusetts Practice Series > Massachusetts Practice Elder Law.

 

Lexis Advance:  Browse Topics > topics include estate, gift and trust law; family law; healthcare. 

 

Lexis Advance:  Browse Sources >  Narrow by ‘Secondary Materials’ and ‘Treatises’ and Jurisdiction ‘Massachusetts’, then browse list of MCLE’s.

 

Bloomberg Law:  There are some treatises under Practice Centers  > Books & Treatises.

 

Other general suggestions:

 

EBSCO Databases (Academic Search Premier, SocIndex) and ScienceDirect (from which you can request interlibrary loan of articles) are some of the interdisciplinary databases accessible from the library’s A-Z Databases.

 

BNA’s Health Law Resource Center has sections on Medicare and Medicaid, Health Insurance and Benefits, and more.

 

A search on keyword “elder” in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service retrieves many reports on abuse of the elderly.

 

Also, the library catalog’s Journal Locator can be used to keyword search within individual journals on elder law.   

 

 

 

Selected individual titles:

Print format records are linked below, except where online is more current, or there is no print in our library.  For online equivalents, check Portia or Lexis/Westlaw/Bloomberg directly. 

 

14th annual elder and disability law conference 2013 (MCLE)

14th annual estate planning conference (MCLE)

Advising the elderly client

Advising elder clients in crisis (MCLE)

Advising the elderly or disabled client

The advisor's guide to long-term care (ABA)

Bloch on Social Security

CCH Pensions and deferred compensation

CCH Social Security Reporter

Divorce in the golden years...(ABA)

Domestic violence against older women

Elder abuse:  international and cross-cultural perspectives

Elder law answer book

Elder law basics (Mass. Bar. Inst.)

Elder law health care strategies

Elder law in a nutshell

Elder law and financial strategies

Elder law:  what you need to know...

Elderlaw advocacy for the aging

Elderlaw forms manual (updated through 2011)

The elderlaw portfolio series

Elder law under the MUTC & MUPC

Elders, crime, and the criminal justice system

Employee retirement plans

Employees who are aging

Ethics in the practice of elder law (ABA)

Estate planning for the aging or incapacitated client in Massachusetts

Estate planning for the wealthy elderly client (MCLE)

Family crimes against the elderly

GAL training for category I, K, M, and Q matters

Gay and lesbian elders

Geronticide:  killing the elderly

Guardianship and conservatorship practice under the Massachusetts Uniform Probate Code (MCLE)

A guide to elder planning:  everything you need to know to protect your loved ones and yourself

Handling SSI & SSDI claims

Life care planning and case management handbook

If that ever happens to me:  making life and death decisions after Terri Schiavo

Incapacitated and alone:  health-care decision making for the unbefriended elderly

Inside the castle:  law and family in twentieth century America

The law and older persons:  is geriatric jurisprudence therapeutic?

The law of later-life health care and decision making

The lawyer's guide to elder injury and accident compensation

Massachusetts elder law

Major health care policies:  50 state profiles

Massachusetts Practice:  volume 56-Elder Law

Medicaid and health care planning update (MCLE)

Medicaid planning and irrevocable Medicaid trusts

Medicaid planning and medicare set-asides (MCLE)

Medical issues in social security disability (updated through 2010)

New York Elder Law Handbook

Old behind bars:  the aging prison population in the United States

Older people in law and society

Real estate issues for boomers and seniors (MCLE)

Residence options for older and disabled clients (ABA)

The Social Security Act sourcebook (ABA)

Social Security disability claims:  practice and procedure

Social security disability claims handbook

Social Security disability practice

Social security, Medicare & government pensions:  getting the most out of your retirement and medical benefits

Someday all this will be yours:  a history of inheritance and old age

Taking care:  ethical caregiving in our aging society [President’s Council on Bioethics]

Tax, estate, and financial planning for the elderly

Tax planning for retirees

You and your aging parents:  a guide to legal, financial, and health care issues

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip