The legal system governing the relationships between nations; more modernly, the law of international relations, embracing not only nations but also such participants as international organizations and individuals. - Black's Law Dictionary (9th ed. 2009)
Last Updated: Dec 14, 2012
URL: http://libraryguides.nesl.edu/publicinternationallaw
Print Guide
- HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection
Includes all United Nations treaties & documents, and international court of justice documents, all searchable using keywords, subjects, and citations
- United Nations Treaty Collection
- United Nations Treaty Collection - Monthly Statement of Treaties and International Agreements
- Core International Human Rights Instruments and Their Monitoring Bodies
Office of United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
- The FLARE Index to Treaties
Multilateral treaties, includes links to OHCHR and EISIL.
- Multilaterals Project - The Fletcher School
The Multilaterals Project, begun in 1992, is an ongoing project at The Fletcher School, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts to make available the texts of international multilateral conventions and other instruments. Although the project was initiated to improve public access to environmental agreements, the collection today also includes treaties in the fields of human rights, commerce and trade, laws of war and arms control, and other areas.
- The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School
The Location of American Diplomacy - 1778 to the Present. Text of all treaties.
- European Conventions and Agreements, 1949-Present
Conventions and agreements opened for signature between 1949 and 2003 were published in the "European Treaty Series" (ETS No. 001 to 193 included). Since 2004, this Series is continued by the "Council of Europe Treaty Series" (CETS No. 194 and following).
- U.S. Senate Treaty Page
The Senate's Role in the Treaty Process - Treaties in Force - Historic Treaty Debates
- Congressional Treaty Documents
With electronic search capability
- U.S. Department of State - Treaties in Force
Treaties in Force is prepared by the Department of State for the purpose of providing information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party and which are carried on the records of the Department of State as being in force as of its stated publication date, January 1, 2007.
- U.S. Department of State Treaty Actions
This site contains a record of actions taken by states in regard to international agreements. This information is provided by the Office of Treaty Affairs.
- U.S. Treaties on LEXIS (USTRTY)
The U.S. Treaties on LEXIS (USTRTY) file is a unique electronic compilation of full-text ratified and unratified treaties and international agreements, where the United States is a party or signatory. This includes not only treaties signed by the President with the advice and consent of the US Senate, but also international agreements from the U.S. Government. Documents are obtained directly from the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Senate, as well as authoritative U.S. government publications, including: